Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.

What is ASEAN?

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established in 1967 with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by Founding Fathers Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam joined in 1984, Viet Nam in 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999.

Together these countries make up the ten Member States of ASEAN.


« Back
Close window